Formation of the KSY

C (Kent & Sharpshooters Yeomanry) Squadron the Royal Yeomanry (C Sqn) is the descendant of the 18th, 21st & 23rd Bns (Sharpshooters) Imperial Yeomanry, the 3/4th County of London (Sharpshooters) Yeomanry, the Queens Own West Kent Yeomanry and the East Kent Mounted Rifles.

C Squadron is affiliated to a various non RAC organisations including a signals sub-unit 265 (KCLY) Squadron (Sharpshooters), three cadet units, a regimental association and a museum trust.

The Kent and County of London Yeomanry (Sharpshooters) Regiment was formed as a unit in 1961 by the amalgamation of two yeomanry regiments, the 3rd/4th County of London Yeomanry (Sharpshooters) and 297 (Kent Yeomanry) Regt, Royal Artillery.

It served as an armoured reconnaissance regiment until 1967 when it was disbanded and reconstituted as two separate units: C (KSY) Squadron of the Royal Yeomanry and R Battery of The London and Kent Regiment, Royal Artillery. In 1969, the artillery battery was converted to a squadron of the Royal Signals as part of 71 Signals Regiment. In 1971, this was given the name '265 (Kent and County of London Yeomanry) Squadron'.

In August 2006, C (KSY) Squadron, along with the rest of the Royal Yeomanry, was rebadged under the new single RY cap badge.

In July 2014 a detachment based at Combermere Barracks in Windsor became part of C (KSY) Sqn and increased the squadron footprint significantly.